Cart 0

Your cart is currently empty.

Cart 0
Michael Hedges - Taproot

Windham Hill Records

Michael Hedges - Taproot

CD $ 5.00 Add to Cart

Our newest reissue from the Windham Hill Records catalog.  For what Michael Hedges described as an "autobiographical myth told in music", he received a Grammy Award nomination for this 1990 album featuring a performance from David Crosby and Graham Nash.

Michael Hedges described Taproot as an "autobiographical myth told in music".  The album showed a departure from the solo guitar that made him famous and a move towards ensemble pieces.  Taproot served to showcase Hedges' technical prowess and his ear for lush polyphony.  The album's closing track is the lone vocal - a spellbinding setting of poem by e. e. cummings with soaring background vocals from his friends David Crosby and Graham Nash. 

It received a nomination for Best New Age Album in the 1991 Grammy Awards and spent 22 weeks on the Billboard New Age Albums charts.  Unavailable and out-of-print for some time now, it is Valley Entertainment's extreme pleasure to help keep the work of Michael's tragically short career alive. 

1. The Naked Stalk    1:43
2. The Jealous Tunnel/About Face    4:20
3. The Jade Stalk    3:55
4. Nomad Land    1:54
5. Point A    1:33
6. Chava's Song    3:14
7. Ritual Dance    2:17
8. Scenes (On The Road To Shrub 2)    4:23
9. The First Cutting    3:02
10. Point B    1:57
11. Song Of The Spirit Farmer    4:45
12. The Rootwitch    2:29
13. I Carry Your Heart    4:55


Share this Product

More from this collection