Cart 0

Your cart is currently empty.

Cart 0
Various Artists - Adagio: A Windham Hill Collection

Windham Hill Records

Various Artists - Adagio: A Windham Hill Collection

CD $ 5.00 Add to Cart

Classical masterworks reinterpreted by the revered artists of Windham Hill Records. 

“…Violinist Tracy Silverman cuts one of his patented echo-delayed pizzicato violin arrangements of a Bach arioso, while Patrick O'Hearn drapes a somber keyboard shroud around the Adagio from Rodrigo's Fantasy for a Gentleman. Jeff Johnson and Brian Dunning find the Celtic air in the Adagio from Handel's Sonata in G, while Philip Aaberg discovers infinity between the notes of Barber's ubiquitous Adagio for Strings.”

– John Diliberto
host and senior producer of Echoes radio program

 “…David Benoit's jazzy remake of Brahms' Intermezzo No. 6 From Fantasies for Piano manages to take the piece in a relatively daring direction without sacrificing any of the melody's warmth. Not surprisingly, some of the most restrained performances on Adagio: A Windham Hill Collection are among the best: Mike Marshall and Edgar Meyer's version of Bach's Prelude in C-Sharp Minor From the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II gets much of its loveliness from Marshall and Meyer's economical playing.”

 - Heather Phares, All Music Guide

1. Philippe Saisse    Air "On The G String" From Overture No. 3 In D    4:48
2. Paul McCandless    Ave Maria    4:07
3. Tracy Silverman / Thea Suits-Silverman    Arioso    3:09
4. Steve Erquiaga    Nocturne From Lyric Pieces, Op. 54    4:26
5. Paul Schwartz    Sarabande    4:37
6. David Benoit    Intermezzo No. 6 From Fantasies For Piano    5:33
7. Brian Dunning / Jeff Johnson    Adagio From Sonata In G    4:26
8. Jeff Johnson    Adagio From Fantasy For A Gentleman    6:33
9. Mike Marshall    Prelude In C-Sharp Minor From "The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II"    2:43
10. Richard Schönherz    Adagio    4:01
11. Philip Aaberg    Adagio For Strings    6:09
12. Tim Story    Largo From Concerto In D For Lute, 2 Violins And Continuo    4:00


Share this Product

More from this collection