Valley Entertainment

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site
Listen to new music while you shop:

Category Navigation:

You're currently on:

Grace And Pride: The Anthology 2004-1984

« Back to Main Product Info

Availability: In stock.

CD Price:
Add Items to Cart

Product Description

"Grace & Pride" celebrates the 20th anniversary of Britain's leading Celtic band, Capercaillie (pronounced cap-er-cay-lee). The double CD anthology contains 38 tracks taken from each of the band's 15 albums, including previously unreleased, ultra-rare and long deleted tracks. Throughout their career Capercaillie have drawn on two great strengths to inspire them. The first of these is the astonishing musical dexterity of the various fiddle, whistle, flute and pipe players who have performed with them over the years, lead by the accordion and keyboards of band founder Donald Shaw. The other foundation of the band has been the peerless voice of co-founder Karen Matheson, described by Sean Connery as having "a throat that is surely touched by God". Universally recognised as one of the finest Gaelic singers alive today, Karen's exquisite voice has been at the centre of the band's music, whether breathing new life into 400-year old Gaelic songs or bringing her luscious vocals to the band's contemporary compositions. There have been many milestones for a band who have sold over a million albums world wide. These include three silver and one gold album in the UK, the first Gaelic Top 40 single, writing the music for, and appearing in the Hollywood movie "Rob Roy", and performing in over thirty countries including Iraq, Macedonia and the Sudan. Capercaillie have been credited with being the major force in bringing Celtic music to the world stage, and their unique fusion of Gaelic culture and contemporary sound has always stretched boundaries in their quest to keep the music evolving. On "Grace and Pride" the track listing follows the band back in time from last year's "Choice Language" to their debut release in 1984 "Cascade", taking in every album they have released along the way. This is a fascinating journey through the creative evolution of one of Scotland's and roots music's most enduring and successful bands.

CD 1
1   Who Will Raise Their Voice?
2   Mile Marbhaisg
3   Homer's Reel
4   Mo Chailin Dileas Donn
5   Rob Roy Reels
  a. The Road to Rio
  b. Bulgarian Red
  c. Donald Blue
  d. The Gesto Reel
  e. Kiss The Maid Behind The Barrel
  f. The Rob Roy Reel
6   Tighinn Air A'Mhuir
7   Hoireann O
8   The Snuff Wife Jigs
  a. Sweet, Sound, Sorted
  b. Cape Breton Jig
  c. The Snuff Wife
9   Breisleach (live)
10   Co Ni Mire Rium?
11   Beautiful Wasteland
12   Am Mur Gorm
13   Finlays
14   Clo Mhich Ille Mhicheil
15   Claire In Heaven
16   Ailein Duinn
17   Fear-Allabain
18   Eastern Reel
CD 2
1   Stinging Rain (single edit)
2   Alasdair Mhic Cholla Ghasda 
3   Miracle Of Being (Youth remix)
4   Bonaparte 
5   Grace And Pride
6   Silver Spear Reels
7   Dean Cadalan/Servant To The Slave
8   Pige Ruadh
9   Waiting For The Wheel To Turn (12" mix)
10   Dr Macphail's Reel
11   Heart Of The Highland
12   Coisich a Ruin (12" mix)
13   Fisherman's Dream
14   Sidewaulk Reels
  a. Argyll Reel
  b. O'er Bogie
  c. An Chearc is ah'Al
  d. Mrs Dow
  e. Maire's Reel
15   Fosgail An Dorus/Nighean Bhuidh' Ruadh
16   Oh Mo Dhuthaich
17   Calum's Road
18   Fear a' bhata
19   An Ribhinn Donn
20   The Little Cascade




Digital Downloads
No options of this product are available.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Grace And Pride: The Anthology 2004-1984


My Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Join our mailing list

Newsletter Email